(Savory) Chicken Salad Recipe

IMG_20140527_155509

Don’t you love it when you just cook up something that ends up tasting better than you had hoped for?  That hasn’t happened to me often but I just had to share my accidental recipe that came about as we were eating chicken for the third time this past week.

Last week, I decided to make a second attempt at the Halal Guys Chicken and Rice recipe.  It turned out good but it didn’t taste like the NY food cart to me.  We only used up half of the white sauce so I saved that in the fridge.

Two days later, I decided to make a whole roasted chicken.  I didn’t use a recipe.  I stuffed the cavity with 3-4 sprigs of rosemary, 5 garlic cloves, and some lemon juice and on the outside was a plethora of seasoning I had on hand: Lawry’s, garlic salt, cayenne, onion powder, salt, and pepper.  And I also gave the outside a rubdown of butter and more rosemary.  Baked that bird for 1.5 hours at 425 degrees Fahrenheit in a cast iron pan coated with olive oil.  I think it would’ve been better at 1.25 hours but it depends on the size of your bird.

Between Terry and I, we could only eat about 1/3 of the chicken so I decided to mix the leftover meat (with skin), the white sauce, and some extras (will include below) to create the most spectacular chicken salad ever!

The below recipe should be enough for an entire roasted chicken:

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 4-8 mashed up anchovies (per your taste)
  • 1-2 diced up shallots
  • 1-2 tbsp of dijon mustard (I’ve been loving the one below from Sprouts lately)

IMG_20140527_165103

I would add some diced celery for crunch but since we didn’t have any, I added chopped up iceberg lettuce right before putting my sandwich together.  It gave it a nice crunch without getting soggy from sitting with the chicken and sauce for too long.  This is a great alternative for those of you who do not like any sweet (grapes? cranberries?) in their chicken salad.  It’s probably too much work JUST to roast a chicken for this recipe but any chicken leftovers would be great for this.

While on the topic of savory non-green “salads,” I’d also recommend this Provencal Potato Salad which is so much more exciting than your normal, blah yellow potato salad.

(Savory) Chicken Salad Recipe

Say a little somethin' somethin'.

