When will you have a housewarming?

We get this question a LOT.  A housewarming party is really not something we are planning to do because 1) our condo is rented so it’s not ours and 2) it’s really not made for a housewarming (we have no dining table, it’s small, and the neighborhood is QUIET).  Even though we cannot have a housewarming, you can see what we’ve been up to.

We moved to an area with a larger Burmese/Indian population so I have more access to ingredients I need to develop my Burmese cooking skills.  You’d be surprised at how difficult it is to find white poppy seeds.  This is my second attempt at a Burmese semolina cake (shwe kyi) and I must say that it turned out much better than my first attempt, even though I used whole wheat flour instead of semolina flour (too yellow).  The consistency is somewhere between a dense cake and sponge with a lightly toasted wheat/coconut milk flavor.

IMG_20140523_095806

The dogs are adjusting well.  They need to be on more of a schedule with peeing and pooing because we don’t have a backyard/dog door so they can’t just do whatever they want, whenever they want.  I miss that!  Luckily the dogs had no problem holding their junk in while we’re away at work.  There was one accident though and we think it’s Marlow.

IMG_20140523_095819

For the past 1.5 years, I have been going to yoga classes at this studio near our old place and I was sad to leave the familiar instructors/faces.  BUT I was happy to find a studio only 0.5 mile away from our new place and I really feel like I leveled up.  The crowd here on average is a bit more advanced; they’re so into head/handstands and since moving, I have been able to do it!  Unfortunately ALL the classes are heated to 85 degrees so I don’t feel like I ever have an easy yoga day… always sweating buckets it seems.

 

IMG_20140523_095851

 

Even though we’re 95% unpacked and settled in, being in a new place makes me less motivated to do chores.  I don’t know what it is.

IMG_20140523_095920

I get to see this burly face every morning and every evening.

 

IMG_20140523_100058

 

Dad Update: I really didn’t expect much contact with my dad for at least a couple weeks, especially not how we left things and what triggered our move in the first place.  Since moving out, he has contacted us twice for help with something despite all that talk about not needing us anymore.  Even his tone on the phone and in person has changed, like he’s actually more excited to talk to us.  When we stopped by the house, it was noticeably more clean and organized.  Guess it’s better for both parties that we did end up moving!

When will you have a housewarming?

Say a little somethin' somethin'.

